Penkhus named Colorado Time Dealer

Bob Penkhus at his desk in Colorado Springs. (Bud Wells photo)

Bob Penkhus at his desk in Colorado Springs. (Bud Wells photo)

Bob Penkhus, president of three dealerships in Colorado Springs featuring brands Volvo, Mazda, Volkswagen and Mitsubishi, has been nominated for the 2016 Time Dealer of the Year award.

He’ll be honored, along with 50 other dealers from around the country, at the 99th annual National Automobile Dealers Association Convention & Exposition April 1 in Las Vegas.

The Time award is one of the automobile industry’s most prestigious and highly coveted honors. Penkhus, 66, was nominated by Tim Jackson, president of the Colorado Automobile Dealers Association.

A 1969 graduate of Cheyenne Mountain High School in Colorado Springs, Penkhus earned a B.S.B.A. in marketing from the University of Denver in 1973. With his business education background, he joined the family Volvo dealership, which was founded by his father Robert in 1956. “It was one of only 10 Volvo franchises in the country when the dealership opened,” Penkhus said. “As a child growing up, I was a permanent fixture around the store, so it was a natural that I would join my father in the business.”

Bob Penkhus opened his own Mazda store in 1973 and in 1977 became president of the Penkhus Motor Co.

Penkhus and his wife, Leslie, have three children and nine grandchildren. For the past 15 years, Bob and Leslie have hosted the Bob Penkhus Hangar Party to benefit the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation Colorado Springs.

An avid flyer, Penkhus put his skills to good use after the earthquake in Haiti in 2010. He galvanized an effort to carry doctors, nurses and medical supplies to the country on his private plane. He also raises money for and supports many other charities.

Penkhus succeeds Scott Ehrlich of Greeley as Colorado Time Dealer of the Year.  First winner of the award was Russ Lyon of Boulder in 1970.

Colorado recipients of the Time award:

2015- Scott Ehrlich

2014- Bob Ghent

2013- Jay Cimino

2012- Mike Shaw

2011- Doug Moreland

2010- Jack Terhar

2009- John Medved

2008- Don Hicks

2007- Lisa Schomp

2006- Barbara Vidmar

2005- Jeffrey Carlson

2004- Jim Morehart

2003- Lee Payne

2002- John Schenden

2001- Dean Dowson

2000- Kent Stevinson

1998- Fred Emich

1997- John Clatworthy

1996- Lloyd Chavez

1995- Jim Reilly

1994- Herrick Garnsey

1993- Roland Purifoy

1992- Jim Suss

1991- Doug McDonald

1990- Bob Markley

1989- Bob Fisher

1988- Harry Dowson

1987- Joe Luby

1986- R.W. Dellenbach

1985- Hugh Tighe

1984- Florian Barth

1983- R.S. Doenges

1982- Jack Maffeo

1981- Nate Burt

1980- Dwight Ghent

1979- Tony Fortino

1978- George McCaddon

1977- Gene Wilcoxsen

1976- Ralph Schomp

1975- Al O’Meara

1974- Charlie Williams

1973- Vern Hagestad

1972- Dick Deane

1971- Gene Markley

1970- Russ Lyon